Coze Studio vs Sim
Short answer
Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Coze Studio vs Sim side by side
| Coze Studio | Sim | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. | Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Permissive |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 21.7k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Jul 29, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.5.1 | v0.9.31 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Free (OIDC free · SAML free) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Not documented | Yes, free |
| Details | Full Coze Studio guide → | Full Sim guide → |
Key differences
- Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- Est. server cost: Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. Sim: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. Sim: 29.9k.
- Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. Sim: Oct 22, 2026.
- Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). Sim: v0.9.31 (Oct 22, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; License: Apache-2.0 (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Coze Studio vs Sim: FAQ
Coze Studio or Sim: which should a small business choose?
Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or Sim?
Coze Studio: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).
How much hardware do Coze Studio and Sim need?
Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between Coze Studio and Sim?
Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Coze Studio or Sim more actively maintained?
Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or Sim?
Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.
Related
- Coze Studio self-hosting guide · Sim self-hosting guide
- All Coze Studio alternatives, ranked
- All Sim alternatives, ranked
- Activepieces vs Sim
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Flowise
- Coze Studio vs Langflow
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Dify vs Sim
- Flowise vs Sim
- Langflow vs Sim
- n8n vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Coze Studio GitHub repository: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio
- Coze Studio documentation: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/wiki/2.-Quickstart
- Coze Studio license: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/blob/main/LICENSE-APACHE
- Coze Studio hardware requirements, Coze Studio deploy instructions: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio#readme
- Sim GitHub repository: github.com/simstudioai/sim
- Sim documentation: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting
- Sim license: github.com/simstudioai/sim/blob/main/LICENSE
- Sim hardware requirements: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting#requirements
- Sim deploy instructions: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting/docker
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.