n8n vs Sim
Short answer
n8n: Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. They sit in different categories (Workflow automation with AI and AI app & agent builders) but overlap: All of them let you build multi-step workflows or agents that call LLMs and expose or connect to other systems.
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available).
n8n publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
n8n vs Sim side by side
| n8n | Sim | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Workflow automation with AI | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Workflow automation with 1,500+ integrations and built-in AI agent nodes. | Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. |
| License | Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files | Apache-2.0 |
| License type | Source-available | Permissive |
| License conditions | You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 208k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | n8n@2.44.6 | v0.9.31 |
| Minimum hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk |
| RAM measured by us | 412 MiB idle, 607 MiB working (our test, v2.44.6, Oct 22, 2026) | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €11.99/mo (based on our test, not official) | from €69.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 4 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | On by default |
| Calls home by default | Yes, by default | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) | Free (OIDC free · SAML free) |
| Audit log | Paid / enterprise only | Yes, free |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Yes, free |
| Details | Full n8n guide → | Full Sim guide → |
Key differences
- Category: n8n: Workflow automation with AI. Sim: AI app & agent builders.
- License: n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
- Official hardware: n8n: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
- Est. server cost: n8n: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo.
- Deploy: n8n: Docker · single container. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: n8n: 208k. Sim: 29.9k.
- Latest release: n8n: n8n@2.44.6 (Oct 22, 2026). Sim: v0.9.31 (Oct 22, 2026).
Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.
n8n vs Sim: FAQ
n8n or Sim: which should a small business choose?
Choose n8n if you want: larger community (208k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Source-available). n8n publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, n8n or Sim?
n8n: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Sim: from €69.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do n8n and Sim need?
n8n: not published. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
What is the license difference between n8n and Sim?
n8n: Sustainable Use License (fair-code) + n8n Enterprise License for .ee files (Source-available). You may use or modify n8n for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial use. You may not sell it or offer it to others as a paid service. Files with ".ee" in the name need an n8n Enterprise License. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is n8n or Sim more actively maintained?
n8n: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, n8n or Sim?
n8n installs via Docker (single container); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). n8n lists 2 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.
Related
Sources
- n8n GitHub repository: github.com/n8n-io/n8n
- n8n documentation, n8n deploy instructions: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/install-with-docker
- n8n license: github.com/n8n-io/n8n/blob/master/LICENSE.md
- n8n hardware requirements: docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/scaling/fix-memory-issues
- Sim GitHub repository: github.com/simstudioai/sim
- Sim documentation: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting
- Sim license: github.com/simstudioai/sim/blob/main/LICENSE
- Sim hardware requirements: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting#requirements
- Sim deploy instructions: docs.sim.ai/platform/self-hosting/docker
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.