Dify vs Sim

Short answer

Dify: Visual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows. Sim: Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API. Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.

Choose Dify if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM) and larger community (159k vs 29.9k GitHub stars).

Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Dify vs Sim side by side

DifySim
CategoryAI app & agent buildersAI app & agent builders
What it isVisual platform for building LLM apps, RAG chatbots, agents and workflows.Visual builder for AI agent workflows, with knowledge bases, integrations and an API.
LicenseDify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0)Apache-2.0
License typeCustom / conditionalPermissive
License conditionsCommercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars159k29.9k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest release1.17.1v0.9.31
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk
Recommended hardwareNot published4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €69.99/mo
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose (setup wizard or manual)
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryOn by defaultOn by default
Calls home by defaultYes, by defaultNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Paid / enterprise onlyFree (OIDC free · SAML free)
Audit logNot documentedYes, free
RBACBasic free, more in paid planYes, free
DetailsFull Dify guide →Full Sim guide →

Key differences

  • License: Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
  • Est. server cost: Dify: from €19.99/mo. Sim: from €69.99/mo.
  • Deploy: Dify: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Sim: Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: Dify: 159k. Sim: 29.9k.
  • Latest release: Dify: 1.17.1 (Sep 10, 2026). Sim: v0.9.31 (Oct 22, 2026).

Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.

Dify vs Sim: FAQ

Dify or Sim: which should a small business choose?

Choose Dify if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 12 GB RAM) and larger community (159k vs 29.9k GitHub stars). Choose Sim if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Dify or Sim?

Dify: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €69.99/mo).

How much hardware do Dify and Sim need?

Dify: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Sim: minimum 2 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).

What is the license difference between Dify and Sim?

Dify: Dify Open Source License (modified Apache-2.0) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed, including as a backend for your own apps. Extra conditions: you may not run a multi-tenant service (one tenant = one workspace) without written permission, and you may not remove or modify the Dify logo or copyright in the frontend. Sim: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. The built-in Chat feature is a Sim-managed service that needs a Chat API key from sim.ai. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Dify or Sim more actively maintained?

Dify: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Sim: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Dify or Sim?

Dify installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Sim via Docker Compose (setup wizard or manual) (multi-container stack). Dify lists 2 known gotchas and Sim lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.