Coze Studio vs Flowise
Short answer
Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. Flowise: Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). Both are in our AI app & agent builders category.
Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, Coze Studio is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it.
Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived).
Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 21.7k GitHub stars).
Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Coze Studio vs Flowise side by side
| Coze Studio | Flowise | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | AI app & agent builders |
| What it is | Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. | Drag-and-drop builder for LLM agents and chatflows (archived August 2026). |
| License | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) |
| License type | Permissive | Open core |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. |
| Status | Active | Archived |
| GitHub stars | 21.7k | 55.5k |
| Last commit | Jul 29, 2026 | Aug 13, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.5.1 | flowise@3.1.4 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | Not published |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | Not estimated |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | npm or Docker Compose |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 3 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Coze Studio guide → | Full Flowise guide → |
Key differences
- License: Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core).
- Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Flowise: not published.
- Est. server cost: Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure).
- Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. Flowise: npm or Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
- Status: Coze Studio: Active. Flowise: Archived.
- GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. Flowise: 55.5k.
- Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. Flowise: Aug 13, 2026.
- Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). Flowise: flowise@3.1.4 (Jul 29, 2026).
Same for both: Category: AI app & agent builders; GPU: not required or not stated.
Coze Studio vs Flowise: FAQ
Coze Studio or Flowise: which should a small business choose?
Flowise's repository is archived, so it gets no updates or security fixes. For a new deployment, Coze Studio is the maintained option; Flowise only makes sense if you already run it. Choose Coze Studio if you want: fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Open core) and an actively maintained project (Flowise is archived). Choose Flowise if you want: larger community (55.5k vs 21.7k GitHub stars). Flowise publishes no official RAM figure, so we cannot compare hosting cost directly.
Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or Flowise?
Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. Flowise: not estimated (no official RAM figure). Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do Coze Studio and Flowise need?
Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. Flowise: not published.
What is the license difference between Coze Studio and Flowise?
Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. Flowise: Apache-2.0 (enterprise directory under a commercial license) (Open core). Most of the code is Apache-2.0. Code under packages/server/src/enterprise and files with explicit copyright notices are under a separate commercial license. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Coze Studio or Flowise more actively maintained?
Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. Flowise: Archived, last commit Aug 13, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or Flowise?
Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); Flowise via npm or Docker Compose (multi-container stack). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and Flowise lists 3; see each app page.
Related
- Coze Studio self-hosting guide · Flowise self-hosting guide
- All Coze Studio alternatives, ranked
- All Flowise alternatives, ranked
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Langflow
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs Flowise
- Flowise vs Langflow
- Flowise vs Sim
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Coze Studio GitHub repository: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio
- Coze Studio documentation: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/wiki/2.-Quickstart
- Coze Studio license: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/blob/main/LICENSE-APACHE
- Coze Studio hardware requirements, Coze Studio deploy instructions: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio#readme
- Flowise GitHub repository: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise
- Flowise documentation, Flowise hardware requirements, Flowise deploy instructions: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise#readme
- Flowise license: github.com/FlowiseAI/Flowise/blob/main/LICENSE.md
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.