Coze Studio vs MaxKB
Short answer
Coze Studio: Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. They sit in different categories (AI app & agent builders and Knowledge base & RAG) but overlap: All of them combine a document knowledge base (RAG) with a visual builder for Q&A, agent or workflow apps.
Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)).
Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
Coze Studio vs MaxKB side by side
| Coze Studio | MaxKB | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI app & agent builders | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Open-source edition of ByteDance's Coze agent-building platform. | Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. |
| License | Apache-2.0 | GPL-3.0 |
| License type | Permissive | Copyleft (GPL) |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. | Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 21.7k | 23.0k |
| Last commit | Jul 29, 2026 | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Latest release | v0.5.1 | v2.10.8-lts |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full Coze Studio guide → | Full MaxKB guide → |
Key differences
- Category: Coze Studio: AI app & agent builders. MaxKB: Knowledge base & RAG.
- License: Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
- Official hardware: Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
- Est. server cost: Coze Studio: from €19.99/mo. MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: Coze Studio: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: Coze Studio: 21.7k. MaxKB: 23.0k.
- Last commit: Coze Studio: Jul 29, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 21, 2026.
- Latest release: Coze Studio: v0.5.1 (Feb 5, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).
Same for both: GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
Coze Studio vs MaxKB: FAQ
Coze Studio or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?
Choose Coze Studio if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)). Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Which is cheaper to self-host, Coze Studio or MaxKB?
Coze Studio: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do Coze Studio and MaxKB need?
Coze Studio: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM. MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
What is the license difference between Coze Studio and MaxKB?
Coze Studio: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is Coze Studio or MaxKB more actively maintained?
Coze Studio: Active, last commit Jul 29, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 21, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, Coze Studio or MaxKB?
Coze Studio installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). Coze Studio lists 2 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- Coze Studio self-hosting guide · MaxKB self-hosting guide
- All Coze Studio alternatives, ranked
- All MaxKB alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs Dify
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs Flowise
- Coze Studio vs Langflow
- Coze Studio vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs Sim
- Dify vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- MaxKB vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- MaxKB vs Open Notebook
- MaxKB vs PrivateGPT
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- Coze Studio GitHub repository: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio
- Coze Studio documentation: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/wiki/2.-Quickstart
- Coze Studio license: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio/blob/main/LICENSE-APACHE
- Coze Studio hardware requirements, Coze Studio deploy instructions: github.com/coze-dev/coze-studio#readme
- MaxKB GitHub repository: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB
- MaxKB documentation, MaxKB hardware requirements: docs.fit2cloud.com/maxkb/installation/offline_installtion
- MaxKB license: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB/blob/v2/LICENSE
- MaxKB deploy instructions: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.