MaxKB vs Open Notebook

Short answer

MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Open Notebook: Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose Open Notebook if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM), fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (40.5k vs 23.0k GitHub stars).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

MaxKB vs Open Notebook side by side

MaxKBOpen Notebook
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isEnterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows.Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models.
LicenseGPL-3.0MIT
License typeCopyleft (GPL)Permissive
License conditionsFree to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars23.0k40.5k
Last commitOct 21, 2026Oct 5, 2026
Latest releasev2.10.8-ltsv1.15.0
Minimum hardware4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk4 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €35.99/mofrom €19.99/mo
Deploy methodDockerDocker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid)Not supported (OIDC not supported · SAML not supported · LDAP not supported)
Audit logPaid / enterprise onlyNo
RBACPaid / enterprise onlyNo
DetailsFull MaxKB guide →Full Open Notebook guide →

Key differences

  • License: MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive).
  • Official hardware: MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk. Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.
  • Est. server cost: MaxKB: from €35.99/mo. Open Notebook: from €19.99/mo.
  • Deploy: MaxKB: Docker · single container. Open Notebook: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: MaxKB: 23.0k. Open Notebook: 40.5k.
  • Last commit: MaxKB: Oct 21, 2026. Open Notebook: Oct 5, 2026.
  • Latest release: MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026). Open Notebook: v1.15.0 (Oct 4, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.

MaxKB vs Open Notebook: FAQ

MaxKB or Open Notebook: which should a small business choose?

Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose Open Notebook if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo), lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM), fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Copyleft (GPL)) and larger community (40.5k vs 23.0k GitHub stars).

Which is cheaper to self-host, MaxKB or Open Notebook?

Open Notebook: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).

How much hardware do MaxKB and Open Notebook need?

MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk. Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.

What is the license difference between MaxKB and Open Notebook?

MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is MaxKB or Open Notebook more actively maintained?

MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 21, 2026. Open Notebook: Active, last commit Oct 5, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, MaxKB or Open Notebook?

MaxKB installs via Docker (single container); Open Notebook via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). MaxKB lists 2 known gotchas and Open Notebook lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.