FastGPT vs MaxKB
Short answer
FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. MaxKB: Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM).
Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
FastGPT vs MaxKB side by side
| FastGPT | MaxKB | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. | Enterprise knowledge-base and agent platform with RAG and workflows. |
| License | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) | GPL-3.0 |
| License type | Custom / conditional | Copyleft (GPL) |
| License conditions | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. | Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 29.9k | 23.0k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Latest release | v4.17.2 | v2.10.8-lts |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM | 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk |
| Recommended hardware | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM | Not published |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) | from €35.99/mo |
| Deploy method | Docker Compose (install script) | Docker |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | Not documented | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | Not documented | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Paid / enterprise only | Paid / enterprise only (OIDC paid · SAML paid · LDAP paid) |
| Audit log | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| RBAC | Paid / enterprise only | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full FastGPT guide → | Full MaxKB guide → |
Key differences
- License: FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)).
- Official hardware: FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
- Est. server cost: FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. MaxKB: from €35.99/mo.
- Deploy: FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack. MaxKB: Docker · single container.
- GitHub stars: FastGPT: 29.9k. MaxKB: 23.0k.
- Last commit: FastGPT: Oct 22, 2026. MaxKB: Oct 21, 2026.
- Latest release: FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026). MaxKB: v2.10.8-lts (Oct 22, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active.
FastGPT vs MaxKB: FAQ
FastGPT or MaxKB: which should a small business choose?
Choose FastGPT if you want: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM). Choose MaxKB if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Which is cheaper to self-host, FastGPT or MaxKB?
FastGPT: cheaper to host (from €19.99/mo vs €35.99/mo).
How much hardware do FastGPT and MaxKB need?
FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM). MaxKB: minimum 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 100 GB disk.
What is the license difference between FastGPT and MaxKB?
FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. MaxKB: GPL-3.0 (Copyleft (GPL)). Free to use internally and commercially. If you distribute a modified version, you must release its source under GPL-3.0. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is FastGPT or MaxKB more actively maintained?
FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. MaxKB: Active, last commit Oct 21, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, FastGPT or MaxKB?
FastGPT installs via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack); MaxKB via Docker (single container). FastGPT lists 2 known gotchas and MaxKB lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- FastGPT self-hosting guide · MaxKB self-hosting guide
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- All MaxKB alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
- AnythingLLM vs MaxKB
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Coze Studio vs MaxKB
- Dify vs FastGPT
- Dify vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- FastGPT vs Open Notebook
- FastGPT vs PrivateGPT
- FastGPT vs RAGFlow
- MaxKB vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- MaxKB vs Open Notebook
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- MaxKB GitHub repository: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB
- MaxKB documentation, MaxKB hardware requirements: docs.fit2cloud.com/maxkb/installation/offline_installtion
- MaxKB license: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB/blob/v2/LICENSE
- MaxKB deploy instructions: github.com/1Panel-dev/MaxKB#quick-start
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.