AnythingLLM vs FastGPT
Short answer
AnythingLLM: All-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget. FastGPT: Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.
Choose AnythingLLM if you want: lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 4 GB RAM), fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional), larger community (67.4k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources
AnythingLLM vs FastGPT side by side
| AnythingLLM | FastGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Knowledge base & RAG | Knowledge base & RAG |
| What it is | All-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget. | Knowledge-base Q&A and visual AI workflow platform. |
| License | MIT | FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) |
| License type | Permissive | Custom / conditional |
| License conditions | Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. | Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. |
| Status | Active | Active |
| GitHub stars | 67.4k | 29.9k |
| Last commit | Oct 22, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Latest release | v1.18.0 | v4.17.2 |
| Minimum hardware | 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk | 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM |
| Recommended hardware | Not published | 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM |
| RAM measured by us | Not tested yet | Not tested yet |
| GPU | Not required / not stated | Not required / not stated |
| Est. server cost | from €19.99/mo | from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo) |
| Deploy method | Docker | Docker Compose (install script) |
| Known gotchas | 2 listed | 2 listed |
| Telemetry | On by default | Not documented |
| Calls home by default | No (documented) | Not documented |
| SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP) | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Audit log | Not documented | Not documented |
| RBAC | Not documented | Paid / enterprise only |
| Details | Full AnythingLLM guide → | Full FastGPT guide → |
Key differences
- License: AnythingLLM: MIT (Permissive). FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
- Official hardware: AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
- Deploy: AnythingLLM: Docker · single container. FastGPT: Docker Compose (install script) · multi-container stack.
- GitHub stars: AnythingLLM: 67.4k. FastGPT: 29.9k.
- Latest release: AnythingLLM: v1.18.0 (Oct 13, 2026). FastGPT: v4.17.2 (Oct 9, 2026).
Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.
AnythingLLM vs FastGPT: FAQ
AnythingLLM or FastGPT: which should a small business choose?
Choose AnythingLLM if you want: lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 4 GB RAM), fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional), larger community (67.4k vs 29.9k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).
Which is cheaper to self-host, AnythingLLM or FastGPT?
AnythingLLM: from €19.99/mo. FastGPT: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.
How much hardware do AnythingLLM and FastGPT need?
AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. FastGPT: minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM (recommended 2 vCPU · 8 GB RAM).
What is the license difference between AnythingLLM and FastGPT?
AnythingLLM: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. FastGPT: FastGPT Open Source License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed. You need a commercial license to run a multi-tenant SaaS similar to FastGPT, or to remove or modify the logo or copyright in the console. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Is AnythingLLM or FastGPT more actively maintained?
AnythingLLM: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. FastGPT: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.
Which is easier to deploy, AnythingLLM or FastGPT?
AnythingLLM installs via Docker (single container); FastGPT via Docker Compose (install script) (multi-container stack). AnythingLLM lists 2 known gotchas and FastGPT lists 2; see each app page.
Related
- AnythingLLM self-hosting guide · FastGPT self-hosting guide
- All AnythingLLM alternatives, ranked
- All FastGPT alternatives, ranked
- AnythingLLM vs LibreChat
- AnythingLLM vs LobeHub (LobeChat)
- AnythingLLM vs MaxKB
- AnythingLLM vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- AnythingLLM vs Open Notebook
- AnythingLLM vs Open WebUI
- AnythingLLM vs PrivateGPT
- AnythingLLM vs RAGFlow
- Coze Studio vs FastGPT
- Dify vs FastGPT
- FastGPT vs MaxKB
- FastGPT vs Onyx (formerly Danswer)
- Add a third app in the interactive comparison
Sources
- AnythingLLM GitHub repository: github.com/Mintplex-Labs/anything-llm
- AnythingLLM documentation, AnythingLLM hardware requirements: docs.anythingllm.com/installation-docker/system-requirements
- AnythingLLM license: github.com/Mintplex-Labs/anything-llm/blob/master/LICENSE
- AnythingLLM deploy instructions: github.com/Mintplex-Labs/anything-llm/blob/master/docker/HOW_TO_USE_DOCKER.md
- FastGPT GitHub repository: github.com/labring/FastGPT
- FastGPT documentation, FastGPT hardware requirements: doc.fastgpt.io/self-host/deploy/docker
- FastGPT license: github.com/labring/FastGPT/blob/main/LICENSE
- FastGPT deploy instructions: github.com/labring/FastGPT#readme
- Hetzner Cloud pricing used for cost estimates (read 2026-10-22): www.hetzner.com/cloud/regular-performance
- GitHub REST API (stars, commits, releases): docs.github.com/en/rest
Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.