AnythingLLM vs LibreChat

Short answer

AnythingLLM: All-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget. LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. They sit in different categories (Knowledge base & RAG and Private ChatGPT-style chat) but overlap: All of them give a team a ChatGPT-style chat interface where users can upload files and ask questions about them.

Choose AnythingLLM if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Choose LibreChat if you want: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 2 GB RAM).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AnythingLLM vs LibreChat side by side

AnythingLLMLibreChat
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isAll-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget.Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management.
LicenseMITMIT
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars67.4k46.1k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest releasev1.18.0—
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot published2 GB RAM
RAM measured by us274 MiB idle, 915 MiB working (our test, v1.18.0, Oct 22, 2026)750 MiB idle, 941 MiB working (our test, v0.8.8, Oct 22, 2026)
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo)
Deploy methodDockerDocker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed2 listed
TelemetryOn by defaultNot documented
Calls home by defaultNo (documented)Not documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree (OIDC free · SAML free · LDAP free)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull AnythingLLM guide →Full LibreChat guide →

Key differences

  • Category: AnythingLLM: Knowledge base & RAG. LibreChat: Private ChatGPT-style chat.
  • Official hardware: AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).
  • Est. server cost: AnythingLLM: from €19.99/mo. LibreChat: from €6.49/mo.
  • Deploy: AnythingLLM: Docker · single container. LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AnythingLLM: 67.4k. LibreChat: 46.1k.
  • Latest release: AnythingLLM: v1.18.0 (Oct 13, 2026). LibreChat: none published.

Same for both: License: MIT (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.

AnythingLLM vs LibreChat: FAQ

AnythingLLM or LibreChat: which should a small business choose?

Choose AnythingLLM if you want: simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack). Choose LibreChat if you want: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo) and lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 2 GB RAM).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AnythingLLM or LibreChat?

LibreChat: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo).

How much hardware do AnythingLLM and LibreChat need?

AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM).

What is the license difference between AnythingLLM and LibreChat?

AnythingLLM: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AnythingLLM or LibreChat more actively maintained?

AnythingLLM: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AnythingLLM or LibreChat?

AnythingLLM installs via Docker (single container); LibreChat via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AnythingLLM lists 2 known gotchas and LibreChat lists 2; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.