LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat)

Short answer

LibreChat: Multi-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management. LobeHub (LobeChat): Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.

Choose LibreChat if you want: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo), lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 4 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: larger community (83.4k vs 46.1k GitHub stars).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat) side by side

LibreChatLobeHub (LobeChat)
CategoryPrivate ChatGPT-style chatPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isMulti-provider ChatGPT-style interface with agents, file search and user management.Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases.
LicenseMITLobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)
License typePermissiveCustom / conditional
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars46.1k83.4k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest release—v2.2.20
Minimum hardware1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk
Recommended hardware2 GB RAM4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €6.49/mo (recommended spec: €11.99/mo)from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)
Deploy methodDocker ComposeDocker Compose (setup script)
Known gotchas2 listed3 listed
TelemetryNot documentedNot documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Free (OIDC free · SAML free · LDAP free)Free (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull LibreChat guide →Full LobeHub (LobeChat) guide →

Key differences

  • License: LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
  • Official hardware: LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM). LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
  • Est. server cost: LibreChat: from €6.49/mo. LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo.
  • Deploy: LibreChat: Docker Compose · multi-container stack. LobeHub (LobeChat): Docker Compose (setup script) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: LibreChat: 46.1k. LobeHub (LobeChat): 83.4k.
  • Latest release: LibreChat: none published. LobeHub (LobeChat): v2.2.20 (Oct 18, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; GPU: not required or not stated; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.

LibreChat vs LobeHub (LobeChat): FAQ

LibreChat or LobeHub (LobeChat): which should a small business choose?

Choose LibreChat if you want: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo), lighter official minimum (1 GB vs 4 GB RAM) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: larger community (83.4k vs 46.1k GitHub stars).

Which is cheaper to self-host, LibreChat or LobeHub (LobeChat)?

LibreChat: cheaper to host (from €6.49/mo vs €19.99/mo).

How much hardware do LibreChat and LobeHub (LobeChat) need?

LibreChat: minimum 1 vCPU · 1 GB RAM (recommended 2 GB RAM). LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).

What is the license difference between LibreChat and LobeHub (LobeChat)?

LibreChat: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is LibreChat or LobeHub (LobeChat) more actively maintained?

LibreChat: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. LobeHub (LobeChat): Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, LibreChat or LobeHub (LobeChat)?

LibreChat installs via Docker Compose (multi-container stack); LobeHub (LobeChat) via Docker Compose (setup script) (multi-container stack). LibreChat lists 2 known gotchas and LobeHub (LobeChat) lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.