Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat)

Short answer

Jan: Offline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer. LobeHub (LobeChat): Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases. Both are in our Private ChatGPT-style chat category.

Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional).

Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (83.4k vs 45.0k GitHub stars).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat) side by side

JanLobeHub (LobeChat)
CategoryPrivate ChatGPT-style chatPrivate ChatGPT-style chat
What it isOffline desktop ChatGPT alternative that runs models on each employee's computer.Polished multi-model chat and agent workspace with plugins and knowledge bases.
LicenseApache-2.0LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions)
License typePermissiveCustom / conditional
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices.Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars45.0k83.4k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 22, 2026
Latest releasev0.8.7v2.2.20
Minimum hardware8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk
Recommended hardware16 GB RAM4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk
RAM measured by usNot tested yetNot tested yet
GPU6 GB VRAM minimum for GPU accelerationNot required / not stated
Est. server costNo server (desktop app)from €19.99/mo (recommended spec: €35.99/mo)
Deploy methodDesktop installerDocker Compose (setup script)
Known gotchas2 listed3 listed
TelemetryOff by default (opt-in)Not documented
Calls home by defaultNot documentedNot documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedFree (OIDC free)
Audit logNot documentedNot documented
RBACNot documentedNot documented
DetailsFull Jan guide →Full LobeHub (LobeChat) guide →

Key differences

  • License: Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional).
  • Official hardware: Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).
  • GPU: Jan: optional / see notes. LobeHub (LobeChat): not required or not stated.
  • Est. server cost: Jan: no server (desktop app). LobeHub (LobeChat): from €19.99/mo.
  • Deploy: Jan: Desktop installer · desktop installer on each computer. LobeHub (LobeChat): Docker Compose (setup script) · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: Jan: 45.0k. LobeHub (LobeChat): 83.4k.
  • Latest release: Jan: v0.8.7 (Oct 20, 2026). LobeHub (LobeChat): v2.2.20 (Oct 18, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Private ChatGPT-style chat; Status: Active; Last commit: Oct 22, 2026.

Jan vs LobeHub (LobeChat): FAQ

Jan or LobeHub (LobeChat): which should a small business choose?

Choose Jan if you want: no server to rent (desktop app) and fewer license conditions (Permissive vs Custom / conditional). Choose LobeHub (LobeChat) if you want: lighter official minimum (4 GB vs 8 GB RAM) and larger community (83.4k vs 45.0k GitHub stars).

Which is cheaper to self-host, Jan or LobeHub (LobeChat)?

Jan: no server to rent (desktop app).

How much hardware do Jan and LobeHub (LobeChat) need?

Jan: minimum 8 GB RAM · 10 GB disk (recommended 16 GB RAM). LobeHub (LobeChat): minimum 2 vCPU · 4 GB RAM · 20 GB disk (recommended 4 vCPU · 8 GB RAM · 50 GB disk).

What is the license difference between Jan and LobeHub (LobeChat)?

Jan: Apache-2.0 (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep license and notices. LobeHub (LobeChat): LobeHub Community License (Apache-2.0 with conditions) (Custom / conditional). Commercial use is allowed as a frontend and backend service without modifying the source. Developing and distributing a derivative work requires a commercial license from LobeHub. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is Jan or LobeHub (LobeChat) more actively maintained?

Jan: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. LobeHub (LobeChat): Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, Jan or LobeHub (LobeChat)?

Jan installs via Desktop installer (desktop installer on each computer); LobeHub (LobeChat) via Docker Compose (setup script) (multi-container stack). Jan lists 2 known gotchas and LobeHub (LobeChat) lists 3; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.