AnythingLLM vs Open Notebook

Short answer

AnythingLLM: All-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget. Open Notebook: Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models. Both are in our Knowledge base & RAG category.

Choose AnythingLLM if you want: lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 4 GB RAM), larger community (67.4k vs 40.5k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Last updated · computed from each project's official docs and live GitHub data · sources

AnythingLLM vs Open Notebook side by side

AnythingLLMOpen Notebook
CategoryKnowledge base & RAGKnowledge base & RAG
What it isAll-in-one private chat with your documents, agents and an embeddable widget.Private, self-hosted alternative to Google NotebookLM with your choice of AI models.
LicenseMITMIT
License typePermissivePermissive
License conditionsPermissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice.Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice.
StatusActiveActive
GitHub stars67.4k40.5k
Last commitOct 22, 2026Oct 5, 2026
Latest releasev1.18.0v1.15.0
Minimum hardware2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk4 GB RAM
Recommended hardwareNot publishedNot published
RAM measured by us274 MiB idle, 915 MiB working (our test, v1.18.0, Oct 22, 2026)Not tested yet
GPUNot required / not statedNot required / not stated
Est. server costfrom €19.99/mofrom €19.99/mo
Deploy methodDockerDocker Compose
Known gotchas2 listed4 listed
TelemetryOn by defaultNot documented
Calls home by defaultNo (documented)Not documented
SSO (OIDC / SAML / LDAP)Not documentedNot supported (OIDC not supported · SAML not supported · LDAP not supported)
Audit logNot documentedNo
RBACNot documentedNo
DetailsFull AnythingLLM guide →Full Open Notebook guide →

Key differences

  • Official hardware: AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.
  • Deploy: AnythingLLM: Docker · single container. Open Notebook: Docker Compose · multi-container stack.
  • GitHub stars: AnythingLLM: 67.4k. Open Notebook: 40.5k.
  • Last commit: AnythingLLM: Oct 22, 2026. Open Notebook: Oct 5, 2026.
  • Latest release: AnythingLLM: v1.18.0 (Oct 13, 2026). Open Notebook: v1.15.0 (Oct 4, 2026).

Same for both: Category: Knowledge base & RAG; License: MIT (Permissive); GPU: not required or not stated; Est. server cost: from €19.99/mo; Status: Active.

AnythingLLM vs Open Notebook: FAQ

AnythingLLM or Open Notebook: which should a small business choose?

Choose AnythingLLM if you want: lighter official minimum (2 GB vs 4 GB RAM), larger community (67.4k vs 40.5k GitHub stars) and simpler deploy (one container vs a multi-container stack).

Which is cheaper to self-host, AnythingLLM or Open Notebook?

AnythingLLM: from €19.99/mo. Open Notebook: from €19.99/mo. Our estimate is the cheapest Hetzner Cloud plan that meets each project's official RAM and vCPU figure; it covers the server only.

How much hardware do AnythingLLM and Open Notebook need?

AnythingLLM: minimum 2 vCPU · 2 GB RAM · 5 GB disk. Open Notebook: minimum 4 GB RAM.

What is the license difference between AnythingLLM and Open Notebook?

AnythingLLM: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the copyright notice. Open Notebook: MIT (Permissive). Permissive. Internal and commercial use allowed; keep the license notice. This is a summary, not legal advice.

Is AnythingLLM or Open Notebook more actively maintained?

AnythingLLM: Active, last commit Oct 22, 2026. Open Notebook: Active, last commit Oct 5, 2026. GitHub data refreshed Oct 22, 2026.

Which is easier to deploy, AnythingLLM or Open Notebook?

AnythingLLM installs via Docker (single container); Open Notebook via Docker Compose (multi-container stack). AnythingLLM lists 2 known gotchas and Open Notebook lists 4; see each app page.

Related

Sources

Every value is generated from the same verified data as the app pages. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.